New Year Honours

Many congratulations to our alumni and honorary graduates acknowledged in the New Year awards:

Evelynne A Berger (LLB Law, 1977) OBE for services to Education

Dr Adrienne J Cooper (PG Cert Strategic Social Care Leadership, 2007) OBE for services to Adult Social Services

Dr Darren (Ron) F Daniels (MBChB Medicine, 1994) BEM for services to Improving Services for Sepsis Sufferers

Jane S P Davies–Slowik (MCDH Community Dental Health, 1988) MBE for services to Improving Oral Health of Disadvantaged People

Dr Ian W Evett (BSc Physics, 1963) CBE for services to Forensic Science

David R Gifford (BSc Chemical Engineering, 1963; MSc Chemical Engineering, 1964) BEM for services to the community in Kings Lynn, Norfolk

Dr Jennifer M Harries (Interc BSc Pharmacology, 1981; MBChB, 1984; PG Cert Leading Strategic Planning and Commissioning, 2009) OBE for services to Public Health.

Dame Linda (Lin) M Homer (Hon DUniv, 2010) DCB for public service particularly to Public Finance

Michael A McCarthy (BMus Music, 1981) MBE for services to Music in Wales

Carolyn Mary E Pike (LLB Law, 1992) OBE for services to Higher Education and Legal Services (pictured)

Darren J Share (PG Diploma Public Service Management, 1997; MBA Public Service, 1998) MBE for services to the Environment in Birmingham

Hugh O Thornbery (MBA Public Service, 2000) CBE for services to Children and Families

Christine (Chrissie) A Wellington (BSc Geography, 1998; Hon DUniv, 2010) OBE for services to Sport and Charity

If you were awarded an honour and your name is not here please accept our apologies and email us.

Congratulations to Emeritus Professor Ian Scott who was made a QC in January 2016.